Site Loader
Rock Street, San Francisco


Christianity is based on four pillars, namely: Creed,
representing our faith, what must we believe? Sacraments, representing our
public worship, what must we celebrate as a community? Commandments,
representing our morals, what must we do? Our father representing our personal
prayer, how we should pray?

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

I am the Lord your God: you shall not have other Gods
beside me1.
Is one of the commandments of God and written as the first Commandment. In this
commandment proved that catholic is a monotheistic religion. Other would say “how
could the catholic church become a monotheistic religion if they have three
Gods”? This is the question to us by other religion. That is why the Catholic
Church describes the trinity or the triune God, One God in three divine person.

commandment basically commands to worship God alone and not the false God. Also
the three theological virtues namely: Faith, hope and love are connected to
this commandment, because it commands to have faith in God, ought to keep and
nourish our faith and reject the sins of heresy, Apostasy and schism. To have
hope in God, we should hope in God to avoid the sins of despair and presumption.
Lastly, it commands us to have love of God, love God above all things.

If there are things that command us to do, there are
also things that forbid. And what are those things? One of those is the
atheism, refusing the existence of God. Idolatry, idolizing other greater than God.
Superstition and Divination, having contact with the demon. Sacrilege,
desecrating people, things, and place dedicated to God. Simony, Buying and
selling the blessed spiritual things.

And this commandment also enlightens us and gives
answer the question regarding the veneration of images of what other
denomination questioned to us. Why catholic do venerates images? Isn’t against
the First commandment? These questions answered by the Catholic Church and
clarify the distinction between adoration and veneration. Veneration divided into
two the “Dulia” and “Hyperdulia” Dulia refers to the veneration for the Angels
and saints while Hyperdulia refers to the veneration for Mary. And adoration or
worshipping refers to God alone

This synthesis paper about the First commandment
guides us in the journey of our faith and also in our daily endeavor. Because
sometimes we do not know that we already committed those sins belong to this
commandment. So this will help us to disappear our ignorance of our faith.


















does the First commandment means?

The first commandment, we are commanded to offer to God alone
the supreme worship that is due him as the only true God. You must worship the
lord your God, and serve him alone2.  And there are lots
of references in the scripture regarding to this commandment. But I stick to
that biblical text above. The meaning of this commandment is already found in

commandment and the three theological virtues

            The first commandment embraces
faith, hope, and charity. When we say ‘God’ we confess a constant, unchangeable
being, always the same, faithful and just, without any evil. It follows that we
must necessarily accept his words and has complete faith in him and acknowledges
his authority. He is almighty, merciful, and infinitely beneficent. Who could
not place all hope in him? Who could not love him when contemplating the
treasures of goodness and love he has poured out on us? Hence the formula God
employs in the Scripture at the beginning and end of his commandments: I am the

            What is Faith?

Defined as a Strong belief in God or in the doctrines of a
religion, based on spiritual apprehension rather than proof.
It is also first obligation towards God is the obedience of faith. In other
words, we must act upon what we profess to believe. We must do everything in
our power to protect and safeguard our faith against anything opposed to it. Faith obliges us first, to make efforts to find out
what God has revealed; second, to believe firmly what God has revealed; third,
to profess our faith openly whenever necessary. It is the virtue that concerns
the past, because we believe in what God has already revealed. There are
several ways in which we can sin against faith. Heresy, this applies to people who have been baptized into the
faith, but refuse to believe a truth that must be believed. It can be an
obstinate doubt or denial of the truth. Apostasy,
this entails a complete rejection of the Christian faith. Schism, this entails a refusal to submit to the Pope or a refusal
of communion with the members of the Church under him.

is Hope?

A feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to
happen. By which we desire eternal life as the reward for our faith and good
works is the virtue that concerns the future because only death
we can enjoy the eternal communion with God. There are several ways we can sin
against hope .Despair, a person in
despair stops hoping that salvation is possible for him either because he does
not think it is possible or because he believes his sins cannot be forgiven.
This is contrary to God’s power, love, and mercy. Presumption, this is the opposite from despair. In presumption, a
person can err two ways. First, he can believe that he can save himself without
God’s help (presuming upon his own power). Second, he can presume upon God’s
power or mercy. He does this by presuming that God will reward and forgive him
without true conversion, change, or good works.

is love?

which we do good deeds for God, is the virtue that concerns the present,
because we can love only at the present moment. Charity obliges us to love God
above all things because He is infinitely good, and to love our neighbor as
ourselves for the love of God. The commandment of love mandates that we love
God above all and others for His sake. We can sin against this in various ways.
Indifference, an indifferent person
simply neglects or obstinately refuses to think about charity. This person does
neither think upon nor accepts its goodness or its power. Ingratitude, a person fails to acknowledge or be thankful for all
that God has done for him. He refuses to return God’s love with love. Luke warmness, this includes hesitation
or negligence in loving God and others. Lukewarm people do not respond to
promptings to love and live in a mediocre way. These people offend God most,
for they possess and know the truth, but fail to respond to it. They have seen
goodness and love, but do not allow it to change them or move them. Acedia, this is a form of spiritual
laziness which goes so far that it rejects the joy and goodness that comes from
God .Hatred of God, this includes a
complete rejection of God’s goodness. It sees God as a cruel judge who forbids
sin and inflicts harsh punishments. It stems from pride.

1 Ex 20:3

2 Mt 4:10

3 CCC 2086

Post Author: admin


I'm Eunice!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out